Wine Riot

I went to the opening night of Wine Riot Boston last Friday. Wine Riot is an event organized by Second Glass a company created in 2008 who now hosts wine events all across the US. The stated purpose of Second Glass was to create fun, easy, accessible occasions for people to get into wine (and for wine to get into people) without being overly concerned with jargon, labels or the general fussy trappings of the wine tasting experience.

IMG_20131025_203146_514

As you can see on the pictures this is a pretty sizable event, lots of producers from all over the world, including some local Massachusetts producers and some French importers. On top of the tasting opportunities at the different booths, there was also a set of short, 20 minutes classes on various topics.

I must say I had a great time. I’ll post tomorrow about the wines I liked best but for now I’d like to focus on the general atmosphere at the event. The low-key, fun vibe advertised by Second Glass was definitely there, it’s a younger crowd, there’s a DJ playing, balloons dropping, a temporary tattoo parlor and some funny photo booths. It’s definitely different from the more formal French wine salons I have attended in the past. I think it’s a good thing as it makes wine less intimidating and cuts through the snobbishness to focus on the fun and the actual wine.

IMG_20131025_221147_786

 

I really liked the fact that pretty much every producer was really nice and ready to discuss even when things got a little hectic. I got a few business cards and I’ll try to interview some of these contacts for the blog.

On another subject, I’m taking the exam for the second level of my wine diploma tonight, I hope it goes well and I’ll post tomorrow about my favorite wines from Wine Riot and the wines that ended up being the more popular there.

3 thoughts on “Wine Riot

    • I agree with you. It’s hard to do a real, solid tasting, there is just too much going on and too many people. However you can still see which wines stand out for you and of course it’s a ton of fun. I’d say the positive outweighs the negative here.

Leave a Reply

