I know what I’m talking about ! Maybe, somewhat, a little…

I learned yesterday that I passed the wine exam I took last month.

I have officially received the WSET Level 2 Wine & Spirit Award. The classes focused on the major grape varieties and wine-growing regions on the theoretical side and an introduction to serious tasting methodology on the practical side. Basically we study the basic characteristics of varieties and regions and then taste a few examples to illustrate the lesson. For instance after a lecture on Pinot Noir, there’s a tasting of Pinots from Burgundy, California and New-Zealand to illustrate the differences in style.

Certified_LEVEL2_W&S(286)OL

I was happy to realize I did better than I expected on the exam. It was a 50 questions multiple choice answer questionnaire and I got 43 questions out of 50 right. I remember finding the exam much harder than I expected so this came as a nice surprise.

I want to take the Advanced, level 3 class next year if I can afford it. It should be a lot more intense with actual tasting exercises at the exam, not just theoretical questions. A good challenge is always nice. A good challenge that gives you the opportunity to sample more wines and learn a lot is always great.

So there you go, I’m certified now ! Does that give more value to what I’m writing ? Not sure about that but it definitely can’t hurt, right ?

 

 

13 thoughts on “I know what I’m talking about ! Maybe, somewhat, a little…

    • Thanks ! I think you passed it already right ? How hard was it ? Do you think it’s worth it for a non-wine professional ?

      • It’s much more intense than level 2 but I definitely think it’s worth it if you have the time. There were a few lawyers in my course as well as wine biz pros; one lawyer said it was more difficult than studying for the LSAT, so make sure you have the time in your day to study. But I’m so glad I did it. If I ever get time, I want to pursue the diploma course.

      • Ok, that’s pretty much what I thought. I Think I’ll try to do it, the session starts in February I believe. It could be a non-negligible step towards transitioning to the wine biz !

  1. Congrats, that’s quite an achievement! I would definitely recommend the L3 but you’re right it’s a challenge. Judging by your strong L2 score though I don’t think you’ll have too much trouble πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks ! To be honest, I’m not worried about the theoretical part of the test, I studying is never a problem ! I’m more concerned with the blind tasting part and whether my palate and nose are up to the task…

      • Ahh but don’t worry Antoine!

        Honestly, whenever I teach L3 courses that is what everyone gets stressed about but that’s never the problem. People almost always pass the blind tasting – it’s the theory where they fall down!

      • My L2 instructor told me the same thing. I guess it seems more daunting than it actually is. I’ll definitely try to do it, thanks for the encouragements Julia !

  2. Pingback: Back to school | Wine Ramblings

Leave a Reply

