Wine Music : Gewurztraminer and Beaujolais

It’s time for a second wine / song pairing. Today I’ll match two wines that I had recently : Gewurztraminer Vendanges Tardives from Alsace and wines from the Beaujolais appellations like Fleury or Regnié.

Gewurztraminer Vendanges Tardives : Kokomo, The Beach Boys, 1988

Any pairing with Gewurz had to include some kind of tropical them. This song qualifies. Granted it’s a little cheesy and considered a minor hit from a great band, but there are a few other points that make it a good match. The tropical, Caribbean sounds, like a steel drum, are here but they alternate with softer, mellower parts. It reminded me of the more delicate lychee giving the pineapple a run for his money. I also like the line “we’ll get there fast and then we’ll take it slow.” It made me think of the grapes waiting on the vine until they are ready and their sugar level is high. They definitely took it slow here. Oh, also the video is super eighties; it’s a good added bonus!

Beaujolais, All I Wanna do, Sheryl Crow, 1993

This one hit me like a ton of bricks. I was racking my brains for another match and then this song came on. An ode to taking it easy, a song relating a bar side conversation on a lazy Tuesday afternoon, that’s a Beaujolais song if I ever heard one. There isn’t a more effortless wine in the world, it’s unpretentious, all it wants to do is have some fun, and who are we to refuse it its fun? Seriously, I hear the first notes and Sheryl setting the tone and background of the song with a few spoken lines and I crave a bar stool and a glass of Morgon. I know they drink beer in the song’s story but I prefer to focus on what it’s really about: taking a step back let the world pass you by for an hour or two and look at it with amused eyes. Also, like Beaujolais, this song is catchy.

So what do you think? What song would you have matched with those wines instead?

3 thoughts on “Wine Music : Gewurztraminer and Beaujolais

  1. Pingback: Wine Music : Cabernet and Nebbiolo | Wine Ramblings

Leave a Reply

