The Ramblings : MWWC9, Opening night dinners and glassware

Ramblings time.  A few thoughts and links that don’t really warrant a full post but that might however be of interest.

MWWC9 : Fear

Voting for the Monthly Wine Writing Challenge 9 is now open. As always, there are some fantastic entries, this month’s theme was fear which inspired various reactions. You can vote here, my entry is Fear and Loathing in wine tasting, it’s about self-doubt and Dune, and the fact that fear is good; fear is right, fear works.

Wine Blog Awards

WBA_logo_rotator

Someone was nice enough to nominate my blog in the Best New Blog category for the 2014 Wine Blog Awards, so I don’t know what is going to happen, but I thought I’d mention it anyway.

Liquid Art House

I went to the opening of a new restaurant in Boston, the Liquid Art House. Great dinner that culminated in a dessert wine tasting: 2 Italian passitos (Toscany and Sicily), 1 late harvest tokaij from Hungary and 1 ice wine from Canada, here’s a picture that can’t possibly do justice to how great everything tasted.

the end of a happy dinner

the end of a happy dinner

Other tidbit from that dinner, apparently I can be fussy about Italian whites, at least that’s what my friend told me. She might be right too; I think it can be expanded to most whites from warmer climates. I tend to look for acidity in a white wine and as a rule, the warmer the climate, the less acidity there is! But then, I love viognier which isn’t known for high levels of acidity so… I guess it’s a matter of taste. At least now I’m aware of it.

Glass recommendations

Finally, I’m looking to buy new wine glasses, any recommendations about brands and models? I’m looking for versatile and not to fragile. Any advice?

 In any case, and until next time, Cheers !

3 thoughts on “The Ramblings : MWWC9, Opening night dinners and glassware

  1. Hm, so are you saying you did not enjoy the Ben Ryè?… If you are, I am a bit surprised as I find it a spectacular passito which perfectly counterbalances its sweetness with lively acidity and sapidity. But hey, tastes and palates may be different.
    The equation warmer climate = low acidity wines does not necessarily hold true if you consider, for instance, that Asprinio di Aversa (a white from the southern region of Campania made from Greco grapes, locally known as Asprinio) is one of the Italian wines that reach the top notch in the acidity scale of the Italian Sommelier Association wine tasting protocol (“acidulous”). It all depends on the terroir and the specific conditions the vines grow in, I guess.
    Glad you enjoyed your dinner! 🙂

Leave a Reply

