Thai food, Game of Thrones and Riesling

Last night’s episode of Game of Thrones was special to me. As you probably know, I self-identify as a nerd and this series, both books and TV show, have been at the top of my love list for a few years. I went through the books like Leo Di Caprio going through fashion models, and, ever since the TV show started, I have been waiting for the adaptation of one particular scene. And they adapted the hell out of that scene last night.

House-Martell

I knew it was happening, the title of the episode left no doubt about that, so last night, I took steps to ensure I would be ready. Thai food, spicy Thai food, and a glass of Riesling were needed, with them I knew I could face what was coming. And see, that’s the thing, I knew it was coming; I read about it years ago, I talked about it, I re-read it, and still I was emotionally invested in it. Part of me is angry at myself for caring about things that are not real, and part of me just wants to applaud what is, ultimately, great storytelling. Storytelling so good it sucks you in when you already know how it ends.

Glass of German Riesling in hand, I watched one of my favorite fictional characters do what he does best. I watched him channel Inigo Montoya, Casanova and Bruce Lee at the same time and I felt like a little kid being able to enjoy something so much. Why do I like Oberyn Martell? He’s everything I’m not; he’s cool, suave, agile, a real ladykiller… He even has a widow’s peak when I just have a plain boring receding hairline, the dude has everything.

One thing I do have though is my glass of Riesling. I’ll stop pestering you with inane thoughts about a TV show and talk about the wine.

Loosen Bros. “Dr L” Riesling, 2013

Region: Mosel, Germany

Grape: 100% Riesling

Price: around $10

Loosen Dr L

Loosen Bros. is a fairly renowned German winery and they specialize in producing Rieslings. The Riesling grape is extremely versatile and can be made in a variety of styles, for instance by varying the level of sweetness. Of course, besides styles, you can also produce Riesling from different areas, vineyards and parcels. Basically you have two whole set of variables to play with.

That explains why, while they focus on the Riesling grape, Loosen Bros can still have a huge list of different wines.

The “Dr L” is their non-vineyard Riesling line; they describe it as “introductory” which I guess is a good way to call it a gateway-Riesling.

Eye: clear, pale lemon

Nose: clean, medium minus intensity, notes of lime, mango and pear

Palate: off-dry, medium plus acidity, medium body, medium length finish

Notes of apple, candied limes and lemons along with something definitely more tropical, like pineapple. The finish is nice with lingering candied citrus notes.

Food pairings: Spicy food (Thai, Indian), rich fish dishes (try saying this fast 5 times), desserts

Overall opinion: good value for money, nice off-dry Riesling with a very aromatic character and nice acidity. If you’re like me and you love Thai food, it’s a great wine to pair with larb salad or basil fried rice.

Grade: 7/10

2 thoughts on “Thai food, Game of Thrones and Riesling

  1. Actually, I like hearing about GOT 🙂 I read all of the books but just couldn’t quite get into the series. He needs to come out with his next book soon- he ain’t gettin’ any younger and I’m afraid he’ll go to that great Westeros in the sky before tying up all the loose ends!

Leave a Reply

