A wise choice : Badger Mountain Riesling

Badger Mountain Riesling, 2013

Badger mountain

Region: Columbia Valley, Washington State, USA

Grape: 88% Riesling, 6% Muscat Canelli, 6% Muller-Thurgau

Price: around $12

My last post about the Riesling variety was prompted by the wine I’m writing about today. I had a friend over and I wanted to flex my cooking muscles which resulted in Chicken Grandee and macaroons for dessert. Thus I ended up looking for a wine that could go well with that meal. I started thinking I had two options, either go big and bold with an Aussie Shiraz to try and match the dish, or go fresh and acidic to try and complement it. Unable to reach a decision, I got both and let my date decide. She chose the fresh option, she chose the Riesling. She chose wisely.

choice

This bottle comes from the Columbia Valley, the biggest growing region in Washington State. It is known for having a variety of micro-climates and the ability to produce wines with “European-like” complexity, especially in comparison with the more fruit-forward wines of California. This is the common word, I don’t necessarily agree with that.

Eye: medium lemon

Nose: Clean, medium plus intensity, candied apples and tropical fruit

Palate: Off-dry, medium-plus acidity, medium body.

It’s a very refreshing wine with nice acidity. Strangely this wine made me think of apple cider on the nose. Very nice aromas of tropical fruits, like kiwi or mango. It should be noted that this wine is organic and made without any addition of sulfites. Those traits are heavily promoted by the winery so I thought I’d pass them along. I’m not sure how I feel about Organic growing. I’m definitely not against it, I’m just not sure it brings more to the table.

Food pairings: Worked well with the New-Orleans dish I had made: Chicken Grandee, roasted chicken with potatoes, sausage, garlic and peppers with a lot of rosemary. It was fresh enough to stand up to this rather heavy dish.

Overall opinion: Good value for the price, cool looking bottle, easy to drink, good example of a slightly off-dry style of Riesling. I think it’s a winner and a go to bottle if you’re invited to dinner during Spring or Summer.

Leave a Reply

